Backpackers Of Europe
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  3.0
 Rooms  3.0
 Cleanliness  3.2
 Location  3.3
 Security & Safety  3.0
 Service & Staff  2.6
 Food / Dining  2.7
 Total  3.0

"nnn"

User Rating:  2.9
Reviewer:   JOSE A. of A Coruña, Spain
Reviewed:   August 31, 2015  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2015     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Merece la pena si quieres algo barato, sólo para dormir y solo sabes hablar español , ya que la dueña es de origen latinoamericano. Pero si quieres fiabilidad, no vayas. Habíamos reservado en abril dos habitaciones y cuando llegamos, la señora nos dijo que no sabía nada de nuestra reserva y tuvimos un momento de tensión y pagar un poco más para solucionar el problema. Lo dicho, barato sí, seguro, no.

"Simple, non luxurious staying at low cost"

User Rating:  3.2
Reviewer:   R L. of Buitenpost, Netherlands
Reviewed:   August 15, 2015  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2015     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
A couple of days before our arrival I made an overseas phonecall to let the owners from Totterdown Casa know at what time we would approximately arrive at their place. Before I could explain why I was getting in contact I was interrupted by the man saying he would call me back and that was it! The fact that I wasn't given the oppurtunity to explain myself nor the fact that I wasn't called back made me feel uncomfortable. This is not a way of treating people in general and especially not your customers/ guests!!!

At our arrival we were told that we would be staying at another location, so not at Totterdown Casa. In the advertisement nothing was mentioned about having more locations. Important note: at arrival you have to pay cash and there can't be paid by creditcard or whatsoever! So instead of staying at Totterdown we were sent to Garratt Lane. Still very near to the Tooting Boradway underground station.
The lady at Garratt Lane was very friendly! The room was okay, clean, good beds and clean bedlinnen. It's nothing luxurious but it will do for a couple of days. All we needed was a good bed to sleep in and bathroomfacilities. Bathroomfacilities were shared and that wasn't always very pleasant. Especially when you need to go to the toilet and other guests keep the bathroom occupied for a long time because of taking endlessly showers. :(
Also the house was very noisy but when you're worn out that doesn't even matter anymore. But still if you're standards aren't too high and your budget is small this is what you get. At the room there was a waterkettle, mugs and tea and coffee.

Traveling facilities are very good. Busses to several destinations and Tooting Broadway Undergorund from which trains leave every four minutes. It takes about 20 to 25 minutes before getting to central London. The neighbourhood is very pleasant, lively and multicultural. Shops nearby at Tooting High Street and Mitcham Road like Lidl, Tooting Market, Iceland, Sainsbury's, Poundland, butchers, greengrocers, Primark, CEX and Crazy Thumbs. Coffee-shops like Nero, Delta and Starbucks are all a three-minutes-walk removed from Garratt Lane. You can have a bite at McDonalds, Subway, Burger King or other numerous restaurants and pubs. But the best pizza's,fries and fried chickens the best and most friendly service we experienced at" Chicken and Pizza" at Mitcham Road. For only 2,50 pounds per person you can have a full meal!

"Clean room whith shered bathroom"

User Rating:  3.1
Reviewer:   Nataša P. of Izola, Slovenia
Reviewed:   July 30, 2015  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2015     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Small but clean rooms. Three bathrooms in the house, but shered with alomost all the resident of the 9 rooms. First few daw days no hot water - improved with passing days.
Very squeaky doors and thin walls. Good wi-fi connection, no television.

"No hospitality, dirty, noisy"

User Rating:  1.7
Reviewer:   Anita H. of Leiden, Netherlands
Reviewed:   July 27, 2015  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2015     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
There is no reception at guesthouse, so the key should have been in a key lock. It wasn't there and I had to wait for 1 hour until someone arrived (on the telephone they told me it was a 5-min walk). I received no apology of the managers whatsover. The room was double-booked. Bathroom was very dirty, the bathroom and our room weren't cleaned during our stay (2 nights). In the mornings we had to wait for the bathroom, it was constantly occupied. The house was very noisy.
All in all a very bad experience.

"Carmen Casa"

User Rating:  3.7
Reviewer:   Sylvie S. of Maurrin (40 Landes), France
Reviewed:   July 21, 2015  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2015     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
L'adresse de l’hôtel indiquée sur la réservation peut être le bureau qui gère les réservations. Attention il n'y aucune enseigne !!!! Allez frapper!!! Il faut s'attendre à marcher quelques rues de plus pour trouver la chambre et là encore aucune enseigne !! Le prix indiqué est indicatif, 10 pounds nous ont été demandé en plus !!! L'emplacement de l’hôtel : très bien à côté d'un supermarché et d'un métro :-) C'est seulement une chambre PAS de cuisine. PAS de serviette de bain !!!! Pas de rideau de douche ni tapis au sol donc salle de bain vite inondée !!! chambre côté rue bruyante ! Mais je recommande car la chambre était propre et bien située :-)

"Não foi o combinado"

User Rating:  2.9
Reviewer:   Morvan G. of Belo Horizonte/ MG, Brazil
Reviewed:   July 20, 2015  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2015     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
O que foi contratado não foi entregue.
Fui enviado a outra casa, a três quadras do local definido, em rua de grande movimentação de veículos e corredor de ônibus.
A acomodação foi satisfatória.

"bon hotel finalment"

User Rating:  4.1
Reviewer:   Luanda T. of Strasbourg, France
Reviewed:   July 17, 2015  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2015     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Au regard des commentaires passés, J'avais des appréhensions mais finalement tout s'est bien passé pour nous! C'est au fait des maisons où les chambres sont louées nous avons eu une sur une rue proche des arrêts de bus et commerces pas celle de l'annonce mais très proche. La dame et son fils font beaucoup d'efforts pour le nettoyage (ca sentait vraiment au propre, les chambres ainsi que la salle de bains)
et sont des personnes de contact facile prêts à trouver une solution ( nous étions à 4 adultes soit 2 personnes âgées et nous avons demande à changer de chambre et nous avons eu celle du rdc, très confortable). Nous sommes arrives vers 13h et donc ils étaient disponibles pour nous. Seul bémol c'est qui les autres clients qui font trop de bruits en claquant la porte ou en écoutant de la musique après 22h le soir. Certains aussi ont laissé les règles d' hygiène a la maison, notamment un trio de jeunes femmes françaises...je crois qu'on devait aussi noter les clients!!!! Très loin du centre, et pour nous le métro était trop cher, donc 1 heure de bus par trajet! Mais le secteur est très bien desservit par les transports et dispose de beaucoup de magasins.

"It could be better"

User Rating:  2.0
Reviewer:   Rosy N. of San Luis Potosí, Mexico
Reviewed:   June 27, 2015  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2015     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
They sent you to another place, never came back to clean the shared bathroom, never picked up the trash... I won't try it again

"The worst B&B service ever in history..."

User Rating:  1.0
Reviewer:   JOY I. of Madrid, Spain
Reviewed:   June 16, 2015  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   May 2015     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Hi my name is Joy, I and my husband lodged at Totterdown casa at 51 Totterdown Street,City of London England on the 12/05/15 tilll 14/05/15. At our arrival, there was no sign of Totterdown casa non B&B at the so called address. We then find our way into the house by asking people on the street, mrs carmen told us at our arrival that we booked a room online but the house was not located at Totterdown Street so she said her son or one of her business lady will direct us to the house. But I told her that we booked for a room at this address and she started arguing with us that we made a mistake and I told her that we also booked for un-suite room and she was arguing with us that we have to share toilet with other users of the house. All this was not stated online, so they lied to us, and mrs Carmen said we can not pay by card, that they do not take card. At booking,com , were we found the advert, they said the B&B was located on 51 Totterdown Street, an un-suite room and we can pay by card. So in all, they lied to people online and when you get there, they will make your holidays misrable, so be careful anyone reading this comment... The room was very untidy, full of dust, cat hairs all over and the roof window, there was no cotton so when we were in bed people upstairs can watch us while we were sleeping, no good ventilation etc...

"Clean and warm!"

User Rating:  3.2
Reviewer:   Chrysi T. of Thessaloniki, Greece
Reviewed:   June 16, 2015  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   June 2015     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The rooms are really comfortable and clean and with nice deroration!
Hot shower water!
People are very friendly and helpful!
I would definetely recommend it and I would stay there again the next time!


1 - 10 of 42 reviews  Next 10 results




BackpackersOfEurope Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hostel Reviews  |   Write a Hostel Review  |   Suggest Hostels  |   Search Hostels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hostel  |   Link to Us