Backpackers Of Europe
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.4
 Rooms  4.4
 Cleanliness  5.0
 Location  4.8
 Security & Safety  4.6
 Service & Staff  4.2
 Food / Dining  2.8
 Total  4.5

"It said on my key: Titan; the bedding said: Tartan"

User Rating:  4.0
Reviewer:   David T. of York, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   October 10, 2009  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   September 2009     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Firstly, this hotel has a mixed review history, plaudits for cleanliness and fresh linen (agreed), and thumbs down for a strict breakfast regime (well they weren't doing breakfast at all while I was there, so maybe that's a solution).
The building has a couple of storeys on the way up to Nalus, so bear that in mind if you prefer to live on one level, but downstairs, ccentral Belgrade is right outside the (inconspicuous) front door, and Republic Square, Skadarlija, the Orthodox Cathedral, several nightclubs and Kalemegdan are all within easy walking distance. The welcome is friendly, and very easy on the eye. Nothing is too much trouble... except breakfast, which is a disappointment on the first morning; yes, it forces us to go out and explore, but after a heavy day travelling out there, an empty stomach doesn't help.
The room was comfortable, and the shared bathroom will be sufficient for most in this small hotel. If you're looking for breakfast, the Serbs favour small bakeries where you'll get pastries and drinking-yogurt, but for coffee you'll need to find a cafe. There, however, you can also drink slivovitz to counteract the caffeine.
Take care when booking: Nalus isn't expensive, but if the price looks too good to be true, it is. Pay no attention to the bed prices; Nalus isn't a hostel any more, so book a full room, or nothing. Overall happy, and would probably book again now that I know the place.

"Exelent place in down town!!!!"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Nick P. of Tampa Florida, United States
Reviewed:   February 22, 2009  (see hostel reviews from Eurohosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   February 2009     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
It was so clean. It has the best position because everything is verry close: the main treet Kney Mihailova, museus, National theatre... And the stuff is great. 2 Zoun girls are here to help about everything. I recomended!!!

"The best place ever!!!"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Milica Z. of new york, United States
Reviewed:   October 31, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2008     Type:   Honeymoon/Romance
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
It is so clean and modern place. I was delight to spend my honeymoon there! In the city center. Wow

"Simple (very?) but clean and friendly"

User Rating:  4.5
Reviewer:   Michael H. of Reichelsheim / Odenwald, Germany
Reviewed:   March 31, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Bedbreakfasttraveler.com)
Traveled:   March 2008     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The Nalus is sold as a Bed and Breakfast, which is not incorrect, but it positions itself as a Hostel, which is closer to the truth. In summary, we enjoyed our stay, and - if simple is good enough - this is a good place to stay for a few days in Belgrade.
Pros:
- Excellent location (just 1 min walk from the old town and shopping street)
- Very clean
- Economical
- Friendly and supportive staff
- Safe
- Comfortable
- Delicious scrambled eggs with ham for breakfast
Cons:
- Very simple (think IKEA)
- A little noisy (there's a hospital nearby, but earplugs work fine)
- Room was tight (big bed, big desk, big closet, small room - get the picture?)
- Not much variety or choice on the menu

There were a few problems booking on the website, but this was easily solved by contacting the hotel directly. Finding the hotel was a little difficult, but this has more to do with the nature of street names, signposting and general driving in Belgrade. Once we'd found it, it was easy to get back to. Parking is iffy - there's a good, relatively cheap parking garage only a 5 minute walk away. Street parking is available and is safe, but difficult to find, and you need a special card, a Serbian mobile phone or coins to pay. If you don't and get caught, it costs as much as three days in the parking garage!
There is great dining just a stone's throw away (Pane i Vino on Dobracina) and many choices in the near vicinity. If you get desperate for an espresso or a cappuccino, there's a Grand Pleasure (like Costa or Starbucks) just at the end of the street. There's also a big bus stop there.

"A hostel with very good location!"

User Rating:  4.2
Reviewer:   Triina U. of Tallinn, Estonia
Reviewed:   August 6, 2007  (see hostel reviews from Bedbreakfastreservations.com)
Traveled:   June 2007     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Everything was good, except I waited for my invoice for ages. But other than that it was nice and most important really close to the center of a town.


1 - 5 of 5 reviews




BackpackersOfEurope Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hostel Reviews  |   Write a Hostel Review  |   Suggest Hostels  |   Search Hostels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hostel  |   Link to Us