Backpackers Of Europe
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  2.8
 Rooms  2.6
 Cleanliness  2.8
 Location  3.0
 Security & Safety  2.8
 Service & Staff  2.7
 Food / Dining  2.7
 Total  2.7

"SWINDLE ! DON'T TAKE ANGELS GUESTHOUSE"

User Rating:  1.0
Reviewer:   Lemette L. of Chantilly, France
Reviewed:   March 27, 2015  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2015     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
ANGEL GUESTHOUSE IS A SWINDLE ! THE PLACE IS CLOSED SINCE 6 MONTHS, IT'S THE GROSER CLOSE BY WHO SAID IT TO US AND THERE'S A PANEL ON SALE ON FRONT OF ANGEL GUESTHOUSE. WE WILL LODGE A COMPLAINT TO THE POLICE !
WE WANT OUR MONEY BACK !! SO MUCH DISAPPOINTED AND ANGRY !!

"I guess good value for money.."

User Rating:  3.0
Reviewer:   Andrea I. of CARLISLE, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   March 26, 2015  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2015     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The place is not located at the address listed here, they did not change it although my complain one month ago where I lost one hour of time in order to find it the first time.
The room is very clean, the bathroom too. The wi-fi is free and very strong, we saw in stream a TV show without any buffering interruption.
Unfortunately in the morning, when people use the shower of the common bathroom, the water coming through the pipeline makes a very harsh noise making your rest not comfortable.

"Für eins-zwei Tage ok"

User Rating:  3.3
Reviewer:   Martin M. of near frankfurt, Germany
Reviewed:   December 30, 2014  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2014     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Typisches Low-Budged Hostel. Nichts was wirklich negativ auffällt..
Gute Lage.

"great location for best price"

User Rating:  4.4
Reviewer:   Kerstin H. of Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewed:   December 9, 2014  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2014     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
best price,nice location,friendly people

"Do not stay here! Horrified!"

User Rating:  1.2
Reviewer:   Amy S. of Sydney, Australia
Reviewed:   November 18, 2014  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   September 2014     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Despite on arrival the guesthouse looking fairly clean. We woke after being back in the room just an hour to finding that we had both been bitten all over. Turning the lights on the bed is riddled with bed bugs!! It was the middle of the night and we were worried they would get in our things, half asleep and itching all over we had to walk the streets to find somewhere else to stay.
Now bed bugs happen, if the owners had of apologised and refunded our money we would have been happy with that. Quite the opposite, we were told we had brought the bed bugs ourselves and would not be refunded. Despite showing the lady how covered in bites we were. No sympathy whatsoever and pretty rude!
Ruined our stay in london!

"Relocated Guesthouse"

User Rating:  3.5
Reviewer:   Wirat J. of Bergen, Norway
Reviewed:   November 10, 2014  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   October 2014     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Me and my gf booked Angels Guesthouse about 3 months in advance. I received an email only 3 days before check in, that my room was unavailable. This caused great distress considering I was already in London at that time.
The email was poorly written and had little information about this sudden change.

Fortunately I had the chance to visit the other Guesthouse before check in, which turned out to be the NEW Angels Guesthouse, because the other one was sold. The new one is not bad and the facilities and rooms were clean. Mostly because everything was newly refurbished. The house keeper was helpful and charming.

PROS:
- New Angels Guesthouse is located just a few footsteps from Aldergate East Underground.
- Rooms and facilities relatively clean because of newly refurbished house.
- Helpful in house keeper, mostly available all time.
- Quiet and shielded from outside street noise at nights.
- Cafe, Burger King, grocery, KFC just right outside.

CONS:
- Most rooms are just a bit too small, and does not match the price.
- Only 1 Bathroom and shower, I think.
- Bad email communication. Call directly with phone instead
- Our personal experience with the sudden relocation which was informed
WAY TOO LATE.
- No breakfast included. (No needed for us though)

"Worst Experience."

User Rating:  1.0
Reviewer:   James H. of St. Ives, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   November 2, 2014  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   October 2014     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I booked a double room at the Angel Guesthouse for Friday 10th October to Sunday 12th October, booking out on the Sunday morning. However, I never got that far - On Thursday, 9th October, at 11pm, I received a poorly written email, full of spelling mistake and errors, claiming that my room was unavailable, and that they (the guesthouse) could not give me a room at their guesthouse. In the same email, they offered a replacement guesthouse, across London, for the same price.

I emailed them back asking the location and address of the new guesthouse, and I -still- have not received a reply back! Luckily, we managed to book into the Chiswick Moran Hotel, for only £20 more money overall for our stay.
I honestly urge everyone looking to book here - Don't do it. Find alternative accommodation if at all possible!

"There were bugs in the bed"

User Rating:  2.3
Reviewer:   T B. of Tuscany, Italy
Reviewed:   October 6, 2014  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   October 2014     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
There were bugs in the bed

"Great place to stay at"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Marta C. of Barcelona, Spain
Reviewed:   September 24, 2014  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   September 2014     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I spent a 4 day weekend at the Angels Guesthouse with my daughter. We had a great time in London and felt like at home. Very nice housekeeper, friendly and helpful. We will return again in a few months with some friends. Excellent place, quite and clean. Very recommendable.

"Angel guesthouse"

User Rating:  2.6
Reviewer:   Claire R. of -, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   September 23, 2014  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   September 2014     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The price is really good and the room is a fair size but whilst the room was clean the bathroom was filthy. The shower was full of hairs and the toilet wasn't clean. I was also really concerned because there was no notice that cats were kept in the property, I'm very allergic and have since had a bad rash from coming into contact with the animals. When I booked this was not clearly stated otherwise I would have stayed elsewhere. Additionally, there were no fire extinguishers or evaluation plans shown which worried me and I'm sure is not legal but I may be wrong. Jonathan, the manager, was very accommodating although quite slow or even unresponsive to emails I had sent with queries prior to our trip. The location is great with easy access to the tube. Overall out stay was ok as we were looking for a cheap weekend away but won't be staying again.


1 - 10 of 24 reviews  Next 10 results




BackpackersOfEurope Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hostel Reviews  |   Write a Hostel Review  |   Suggest Hostels  |   Search Hostels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hostel  |   Link to Us